Newly-elected MPs, Senators set for swearing in on Thursday

Spread the love

HARARE – Zimbabwe MP-elects and senators are set to be sworn in this Thursday to signal the beginning of post-independence Zimbabwe’s tenth parliament.

This was announced on Tuesday by Clerk of Parliament, Kennedy Chokuda in an extraordinary gazette.

“It is hereby notified that, in terms of section 128 (1) of the Constitution, the day and time for Member of Parliament before the Clerk of Parliament in the form set out in the Third Schedule to the Constitution shall be – (a) ten o’clock in the morning on Thursday, the 7th of September, 2023, for Members of the National Assembly; and (b) half past two o’clock in the afternoon on Thursday, the 7th of September, 2023, for Members of the Senate; at the Parliament Building, Harare,” said Chokuda.

A total of 279 MPs and 90 Senators are expected to take their oath of office.



Swearing in of legislators follows harmonised elections held on August 23 this year.

Zanu PF won 136 electable seats while CCC won 73.

However, the number of MPs to be sworn in shall be slightly more as there are legislators from either party seconded to the august house under the proportional representation dispensation.

Zanu PF shall see 176 of its legislators sworn on while CCC will have 103 taking their oath.

In senate, Zanu PF has 33 senators and the CCC has 27.

The 60 senators from the two political parties will be joined by 18 chiefs and two representatives of people with disabilities.

The country’s 10th parliament shall, for the first time in over 23 years, be without an MDC lawmaker.