Epworth MDC Alliance Councillors defect to Khupe

EPWORTH Councillors who campaigned under the MDC Alliance have abandoned the party and moved to join MDC-T led by Thokozani Khupe, Zim Morning Post can report.

Speaking to this publication Musa Mabika a leader in the MDC Alliance Epworth Branch said the three councillors Batanai Masunda, Gift July and Joshua Chinonyengerwa had abandoned the Chamisa led camp.

“Masunda, July and Joshua abandoned the party and as Epworth district we are pushing to have them recalled then we field our own loyal councillors who understand the people’s project and are willing to stand with our party leader,” Mabika said.

Masunda is the current Chairperson of Epworth Local Board and is a former spokesperson of the party’s Youth Assembly in Harare Province.

MDC Alliance has been controlling the Epworth Local Board after five of its councillors won the 2018 local authority elections.

The development, however, contradicts a statement issued earlier by Masunda in which he had openly vowed to stand with Chamisa.

“Epworth MDC Alliance councillors are fully behind President Advocate Nelson Chamisa despite the Supreme Court ruling,” reads the statement.

“MDC Alliance had its Congress in Gweru 2019 and Nelson Chamisa was unanimously elected President of the party. We are not even moved by the ruling as it has been overtaken by events. We contested 2018 polls under MDC Alliance and held MDC Alliance Congress in 2019 and no-one challenged the outcome of our Congress,” said Masunda in a press statement in April.

Jacob Mafume, MDC Alliance Deputy Secretary for Local Government claimed ignorance of the move when reached for comment.

Mafume said his office is yet to get confirmation letter by the said councillors.

“I have not received formal communication on that,” Mafume said.

He further said the Thokozani Khupe faction has been promising some councillors and MPs with positions whilst threatening to fire some those who do not deflect.

There have been reports that the MDC-T will this month recall councillors that have not endorsed the Supreme Court ruling.

Source: Zim Morning Post