Parliamentary Committee: Open Committee Meetings Week Ending 8th December

The committee meetings listed below, to be held at Parliament in Harare, will be open to the public. Members of the public may attend the meetings as observers only, not as participants, i.e. they may observe and listen but not speak. If attending, please use the entrance to Parliament on Kwame Nkrumah Ave between 2nd and 3rd Streets. Please note that IDs must be produced.

The details given in this bulletin are based on the latest information from Parliament. But, as there are sometimes last-minute changes to the meetings schedule, persons wishing to attend should avoid disappointment by checking with the committee clerk [names provided below] that the meeting concerned is still on and open to the public. Parliament’s telephone numbers are Harare 700181 and 252940/1.

Reminder: Members of the public, including Zimbabweans in the Diaspora, can at any time send written submissions to Parliamentary committees by email addressed to or by letter posted to the Clerk of Parliament, P.O. Box 298, Causeway, Harare or delivered to Parliament’s Kwame Nkrumah Avenue entrance in Harare.

Monday 4th December at 10.00 am

Public Accounts Committee

Oral evidence from the Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology Development on­:

·        Appropriation Account for year ended 31st December 2016

·        Amenities Fund Accounts for years ended 31st December 2011 and 2016

·        Innovation and Commercialisation Fund Accounts for years ended 31st December 2014 and 2015

·        National Education and Training Fund Accounts for year ended 31st December 2014

Venue: Committee Room No. 4

Chairperson: Hon Mpariwa

Clerk: Mrs Nyawo

Portfolio Committee: Environment, Water, Tourism and Hospitality Industry

Oral evidence from Hwange Residents’ Association and the Zimbabwe National Water Authority on the petition on the management of Hwange Water Treatment Plant

Venue: Committee Room No. 1 [but please check at Reception]

Chairperson: Hon Mashange

Clerk: Mr Mazani

Portfolio Committee: Transport and Infrastructural Development

Oral evidence from Geiger International on progress made in the Dualisation of  Beitbridge-Masvingo-Harare Road Project

Venue: Committee Room No. 1 [but please check at Reception]

Chairperson: Hon Nduna

Clerk: Ms Macheza

Portfolio Committee: Mines and Energy

Oral evidence from the Association of Small-Scale Chrome Miners on their operations in the chrome mining sector

Venue: Senate Chamber

Chairperson: Hon Shumba

Clerk: Mrs Mataruka

Wednesday 6th December at 9.00 am

Thematic Committee: Human Rights

Oral evidence from the Permanent Secretary for Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare on programmes and policies for vulnerable groups.

Venue: Committee Room No. 4

Chairperson: Hon Senator Nyambuya

Clerk: Mr Manhivi

Veritas makes every effort to ensure reliable information, but cannot take legal responsibility for information supplied

%d bloggers like this: